Mike Bailey

Mike Bailey

Mike Bailey

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

School of EECS
2117 Kelley Engineering Center
Corvallis, OR 97331
United States

Ph.D., Computer Aided Design and Computer Graphics, Purdue University, 1979
M.S., Computer Graphics and Computer Aided Design, Purdue University, 1976
B.S., Mechanical Engineering with highest distinction, Purdue University, 1975

Mike Bailey is a professor in computer science at Oregon State University. His areas of interest include scientific visualization, high performance computer graphics, solid freeform fabrication, geometric modeling, and computer aided design and analysis.

Mike received his Ph.D. from Purdue University in computer graphics and computer aided design in 1979. From 1979-1981 he was a member of Sandia National Laboratories' technical staff, specializing in developing 3D graphics tools for mechanical designers. From 1981-1985, Bailey was an assistant and associate professor at Purdue University. In 1985, Bailey became the director of advanced development at Megatek Corporation, where he managed a group of engineers who were charged with developing Megatek's next generation of computer graphics technology. From 1989-2004 Bailey was the director of visualization at the San Diego Supercomputer Center and an adjunct professor at the University of California San Diego. He joined the Oregon State faculty in 2004.

Bailey is a member of the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM), the Special Interest Group on Computer Graphics (ACM-SIGGRAPH), the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). He has served on a number of conference committees, including co-chairing the 1991 SIGGRAPH international conference and the IEEE Visualization conference in 2001.

Bailey has presented numerous technical papers and short courses at a variety of conferences and workshops.

Bailey has taught a variety of college classes to over 2,900 students. UCSD's graduating computer science seniors voted him Teacher of the Year five years in a row, from 1997-2002.

2017 OSU EECS student award Professor of the Year
2012 OSU Beaver Champion Award
2012 Beaver Champion Award
2015 ACM SIGGRAPH Outstanding Service Award
2008 OSU College of Engineering Austin-Paul Award