Andrew Klein

Andrew Klein

Andrew Klein

Emeritus Appointment
Nuclear Science and Engineering

Corvallis, OR
United States

Ph.D. Nuclear Engineering, University of Wisconsin, Madison (1983)
M.S. Nuclear Engineering, University of Wisconsin, Madison (1979)
B.S. in Nuclear Engineering, Pennsylvania State University (1977)

At OSU since 1985.

Dr. Klein’s research interests include nuclear energy policy, nuclear energy systems design and analysis, radiation shielding, nuclear nonproliferation, safeguards and security, and space and fusion energy systems. He is the president of the American Nuclear Society, has been an author on more than 125 technical publications, and is the Editor for Nuclear Technology.

Dr. Klein was on loan from OSU to the Idaho National Laboratory (INL) as Director of Educational Partnerships and served as a member of the Leadership-Management Team at INL from March 2005 to September 2009. During that time he also held an appointment as a Visiting Professor at Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Dr. Klein served as Head of the School of Nuclear Science and Engineering at Oregon State University from July 1996 to March 2005. From October 2002 to March 2005 he also served as Director of the Oregon State University Radiation Center. From August 1993 through October 2002 he was Director of the Oregon Space Grant Program. He is currently a member of the National Nuclear Accrediting Board for the Institute for Nuclear Power Operations, the Board of Managers for Battelle Energy Alliance and the Board of Directors for the Foundation for Nuclear Studies.

2017 American Nuclear Society Outgoing President’s Award
2014 OSU College of Engineering Austin-Paul Engineering Faculty Award
2009 ANS Presidential Citation for Service on Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET
2007 ANS Education and Training Division, Training Excellence Award
2006 Pennsylvania State University, Outstanding Engineering Alumnus
2005 ANS Presidential Citation for Service to the Society
2004 Wilson High School, West Lawn, PA, Distinguished Alumni Award
2003 ANS Board of Directors, Certificate of Governance
1988 OSU College of Engineering Loyd Carter Award