November 2007
Innovative Nanoengineering Advances Solar Tech, Aids Eyesight
OSU professors Chih-Hung (Alex) Chang (CBEE), Brian Paul (MIME), Jimmy Yang (College of Business) and colleagues have invented a better-performing, lower-cost process for coating surfaces with nanostructured (“thin”) films to increase light capture and reduce glare and UV exposure. Benefits of this new technology range from more efficient solar energy collection to higher quality eyeglasses. More…
OSU Wave Energy Research Singled Out in Times Special Report
In a recent New York Times special report on wave energy, the Northwest National Marine Renewable Energy Center was one of five entities worldwide named for their pioneering work in exploring the use of ocean energy for electrical power generation. More…
NSF Web Site Features OSU Graduate Student Research
An article by Mary Beth Oshnack, an OSU Coastal Engineering graduate student working with CCE faculty Dan Cox, has been published on the National Science Foundation’s Discoveries Web site. In this article, Oshnack describes her undergraduate and graduate research efforts to understand tsunami wave forces and improve building construction in hazard-prone coastal communities. More…
CBEE Students Earn University and National Honors
OSU chemical engineering senior Paul Dornath is this year’s recipient of the Joe Hendricks Scholarship, established by the University Honors College in 2008 in honor of its founding dean. Environmental engineering senior Michelle Adlong is one of only 15 awardees nationwide of the Donald F. & Mildred Topp Othmer Scholarship administered by the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, which also conferred an Outstanding Student Chapter Award on the CBEE Student Club for the fifth consecutive year.
CCE Student Team Excels in NECA Green Energy Challenge
As finalists in the 2009 National Electrical Contractors Association (NECA) Green Energy Challenge, NECA­–OSU student chapter team members Craig Blair, Jesse Carter, Hayley Brown, Anthony Spratling, and Tom Bergmann (l-r in photo) took their show on the road to the association's national convention in Seattle last month and came away with second-place honors.
MIME Associate Prof Named SWE Fellow
For her strong ongoing encouragement and mentorship of young women seeking to reach their full potential as engineers, the Society of Women Engineers (SWE) has named MIME faculty member Toni Doolen a 2009 SWE Fellow. “Dr. Doolen has selflessly contributed her time, ideas and guidance to the Society and young women aspiring to reach full potential in their engineering careers,” said SWE president Nora Lin. More…
2009 University Day Award Winners Include Five from CoE
Last month at University Day, OSU presented 21 awards to recognize the achievements of leading faculty and staff members from throughout the university. Five of the honorees were from the College of Engineering: MIME undergraduate advisor Michelle Eck, OSU Exemplary Employee Award winner; MIME professors David Kim and J. David Porter, co-recipients of the OSU Impact Award for Outstanding Scholarship; CBEE professor Shoichi Kimura, Richard M. Bressler Senior Faculty Teaching Award recipient; and MIME professor Jay Kruzic, winner of the OSU Promising Scholar Award.
Newest NE Faculty Member Also First OSU Winner of Prestigious National Award
Alexei Soldatov, a native of Moscow, Russia, and a doctoral student in the OSU Department of Nuclear Engineering and Radiation Health Physics from 2006 to 2009, is the 2009 winner of the prestigious Mark Mills Award, conferred annually by the American Nuclear Society for the “best original technical paper [authored by a graduate student] contributing to the advancement of science and engineering related to the atomic nucleus.” Soldatov’s paper evaluates various scenarios for optimizing fuel performance in OSU’s Multi-Application Small Light Water Reactor. This fall, Soldatov joined the Department of NERHP as an assistant professor of nuclear engineering.
Longtime CoE Friend Celebrates Dream Realized
Not far from the modest but well-appointed office Joan Austin keeps on the Newberg campus of A-dec, the giant dental equipment company she and her husband Ken Austin (BSME 1953) founded in 1964, the matriarch of one of OSU’s best-known and most generous families is watching a dream come true in a grand way. Just up the hill, nestled between the edge of town and a vineyard, is The Allison Inn, billed as “the Oregon wine country’s premier inn and spa.” More…
Kearney Hall Renovation Achieves LEED Gold Certification
For its environmentally sensitive design and construction, the recently renovated Kearney Hall at Oregon State University has earned gold certification from the U.S. Green Building Council’s Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) program. Kearney (formerly Apperson) Hall is the second major OSU facility to achieve gold certification, the first being the Kelley Engineering Center in 2006. More…
ChE Professor Emeritus Extends OSU Legacy with Planned Gift
In his 34-year career on the chemical engineering faculty at Oregon State University, Dr. Charles E. “Doc” Wicks had a profound impact on his field and on thousands of students. Through the generous gift of their Corvallis residence, he and his wife Miriam have created an annuity that will enrich chemical engineering education for OSU students in perpetuity while also providing the gift-givers with deferred income for the rest of their lives. More…
Students Students

"I just wanted to say thank you for all the activities you have going for women engineers. I attended the Footsteps rafting trip, am a member of the Mentoring Program, and a part of Engineers Without Borders. Everyone I met on the rafting trip has ended up in at least one of my classes, [and] this made the first week more fun and less scary! (And now they are amazing study partners.) I just wanted to say thanks for all you do for us!"

—note to Women and Minorities Program Director Ellen Momsen from 2009 CoE freshman Ashlee Mitchell

November 21, 2009 - Beaver Open House (All Day Event)

November 5, 2009 - Willamette Innovators Night 2009. 3 – 9 pm, LaSells Stewart Center & CH2M HILL Alumni Center. Keynote Speaker: James Curleigh, KEEN Footwear CEO.